Connect with us


ICC announces official World Cup XI of the tournament



ICC announces official World Cup XI of the tournament


International Cricket Council has announced the official XI of the 2019 edition of ICC Cricket World Cup. Kane Williamson was named the captain of the squad and two Indian players — Rohit Sharma and jasprit Bumrah found the place in ICC’s World Cup XI while captain Virat Kohli missed out.

England has crowed the champions of the world, they defeated New Zealand in the final where the outcome was decided in the super over. England opener Jason Roy, who was picked ahead of Virat Kohli, had same 443 runs in the tournament.

Jason ROy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer complete the English quadruple. Bangladeshi all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan was excellent in all three departments and has hence made it to the team.

Also Read: Rohit and Bumrah Included as ICC Announce

Australia’s Alex Carey has been the find of the tournament, and he has been selected as the wicket-keeper of ICC’s team.

New Zealand’s Lockie Ferguson finished second in the wicket charts with 21. including three in the final as well as an astonishing catch, while also going at less than five runs an over.

Bowling attack included Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Lockie Ferguson and Jasprit Bumrah. Australian’s Mitchel Starc was leading wicket taker of the tournament with 2 wickets.

Here is the team:

Jason Roy (Eng) – 443 runs at 63.28

Rohit Sharma (India) – 648 runs at 81.00

Kane Williamson (c) (NZ) – 578 runs at 82.57

Joe Root (Eng) – 556 runs at 61.77

Shakib (B’desh) – 606 runs at 86.57, 11 wkts at 36.27

Ben Stokes (Eng) – 465 runs at 66.42, 7 wkts at 35.14

Alex Carey (wk) (Aus) – 375 runs at 62.50, 20 dismissals

Mitchell Starc (Aus) – 27 wkts at 18.59

Jofra Archer (Eng) – 20 wkts at 23.05

Lockie Ferguson (NZ) – 21 wickets at 19.47

Jasprit Bumrah (India) – 18 wkts at 20.61