World Test Championship Final 2023: Australia Squad Announces; David Warner and Mitchell Marsh shocking recall



World Test Championship Final 2023- Australia Squad Announces; David Warner and Mitchell Marsh shocking recall: The 17-man Australian squad for the WTC has been named by the Cricket Australia.

The trio of Marcus Harris, Josh Inglis, and Mitchell Marsh are the players who have earned shocking recalls for the coveted final in Oval vs India.

Vateren opener David Warner has added by the Cricket Australia. However, Marcus Harris inluded as a backup opener in the team.

The most surprising inclusion in the Australia squad is definitely all-rounder Mitchell Marsh, who hasn’t played Test cricket in four years.

Read More | IPL 2023: Users Blast JioCinema for crashing during the IPL

Marsh has struggled with injuries for several disappointing summers. But his recent efforts against India in the white-ball formats and his lone first-class appearance of the year – where he smashed a quickfire century against Tasmania – highlighted his potential to change the course of games.

The core lineup that led Australia to the WTC Final against India with consistent play over the previous two years has been kept, as expected, by the national selection panel. Marcus Harris has been included as the backup opener to David Warner and Usman Khawaja.

Read More | IPL 2023 RCB vs CSK: Why Virat Kohli Fines 10% of Match Fee

Four specialist quicks—captain Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Scott Boland—along with seam bowling of all-rounders Cameron Green and Marsh, spinners Nathan Lyon and Todd Murphy —make up the group.

As required by the ICC for the World Test Championship Final versus India at The Oval (June 7-11). The squad, which will gather in England in late May, will be reduced to 15 on May 28.

Australia squad:

Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner.

(With input from InsideSport)

Click to comment

Popular Stories

Exit mobile version